PNoy creates Truth Commission

In the most concrete step yet taken by his administration to reinforce and bring to reality his campaign pledge "kung walang corrupt, walang mahirap", President Benigno S. Aquino III signed Executive Order No. 1 on 29 July 2010 creating the Philippine Truth Commission of 2010.

The five-member Commission to be headed by former Chief Justice Hilario S. Davide Jr. is charged with investigating and bringing to light the truth behind allegations of large-scale graft and corruption in the previous administration that "undermined the people's trust and confidence in the Government and its institutions." The Commission is also empowered with issuing interim reports for the purpose of recommending prosecution to appropriate prosecutorial bodies of any person or parties against whom there is sufficient evidence and who may be held liable for graft and corruption under relevant laws.

In a signing statement issued by Malacañang, President Aquino said that he signed Executive Order No. 1 to establish "a commission to investigate allegations of anomalies during the last nine (9) years. The process of bringing a necessary closure to the allegations of official wrongdoing and impunity has begun."